The Loya Jirga (Grand Assembly) appointed Sebghatullah Mojaddedi as the head, Nematullah Shahrani and Mohammad Aref Noorzai as deputies.

Mohammad Alam Izadyar and Hayatullah Ballaghi were appointed as secretaries while Safya Seddqui was appointed as the Jirga spokeswoman.

The Jirga will go on to work in 40 committees that will be selected from over 2,000 members.

The Jirga will discuss the strategic pact with the US and peace talks process for four years.

All the roads terminate to the Jirga tent are closed to traffic and tight security as taken.

Taliban had earlier threatened to disorder the Jirga by attacking the tent and launching missiles.